We have great pleasure in announcing the finalists in the inaugural Drowning Prevention Auckland ‘Water Safety Champion Awards 2017’. Our heartiest congratulations to all the finalists, winners will be announced at the our  AGM, 4pm-6pm, Thursday 30 November 2017.

Individual Water Safety Champion

  • Tenga Schwalger-Teura (The Fono); and
  • Ron Bird (Waterfront Services).

Community Water Safety Champion

  • YMCA;
  • Belgravia Leisure; and
  • Swimsation Swim Schools.

Long Service Water Safety Champion

  • Karla McCaughan; and
  • Judy Tipping.

The Awards recognise individuals, community groups, organisations or businesses that have demonstrated commitment, initiative and leadership in the ‘championing’ of water safety in the Auckland region. This includes delivering water safety education, creating or implementing solutions that address behaviour or an identified issue, or raising awareness.